A Special Birthday Gift


I wanted to make something special for my sister’s birthday last week and remembered a while back she had asked me to make her a sweater. Unfortunately I didn’t have enough time (or expertise for that matter) to make one.

I came across the “Simple Shrug” pattern in the current issue of Crochet World magazine and surprised on how quick the body worked up! The body is mostly chain stitches which gave it the nice lace effect in the back and the ribbing, which took a little longer to finish then I thought, but was worth all the effort after seeing it and how soft and warm it felt! AND it looks like it was knitted!

After that part was complete, I only had to fold the shrug length-wise and sew the edges of the ribbing and a little bit of the sides of the body for the arm holes! That’s it! How easy is that??

The yarn I used for this project and the fingerless gloves was Caron Simply Soft in bone and was the absolute best choice for these projects. I love the feel and I love the smell of it too! Don’t ask.. I just love smelling yarn for some weird reason LOL

I couldn’t wait to give the gift to her (no one had any idea what I was giving her!) and she couldn’t believe it when she opened the box! “Don’t even tell me you made this?” was the first words out of her mouth with a look of shock. I said, “Of course I did!” LOL When she put it on, it was an absolute perfect fit! (Her being so tiny helped). She loved the gloves too!

This is what I love about crocheting; it not only makes the person receiving it happy, but I’m happy too and that’s a great feeling!

Enjoy them sunshine and I hope you get a lot of wear out of both of them!

She is modeling the shrug in the two pics below, while my hand is modeling one of the gloves:

Front of the shrug

Front of the shrug

The back of the shrug

The back of the shrug

One of the fingerless gloves

One of the fingerless gloves

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

This entry was posted in Crochet, Handmade and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Special Birthday Gift

  1. Stephanie says:

    I just wanted to thank you soooo much for posting these pictures because I was having a lot of trouble understanding the pattern. There was no picture of the back in the magazine and I was unsure of where I had to sew it. If it wasn’t for these pictures I might have pulled the whole thing out!! Thanks again!!

  2. Sue Viola says:

    Stephanie I’m so glad to hear that the pictures helped you with the sewing part and you didn’t have to rip it all out! The pattern was confusing but I just figured it out on my own and used my mannequin to make sure it looked right. The ribbing part drove me nuts but I like the look of it. What color did you use for yours?

    • Stephanie says:

      I used a satin dark purple. It is so nice and soft. I’m somewhat new to crocheting and this was really my first piece of clothing I made, but even my mother had trouble figuring it out and she’s been crocheting for many, many years. Well, anyway, I love the way it came out and it’s all thanks to you!

      So what other kinds of things do you like to make?

      • Sue Viola says:

        That color sounds so pretty I’d love to see a photo of it! I’m so happy my photos helped you with yours I thought I was the only one who couldn’t understand how to sew it! LOL! I make a lot of other things like blankets, jewelry and scarves. I have an Etsy shop if you want to look to see what else I make. Just click on the Etsy tab in the right-hand column under “My Other Links”.
        I also made another shrug in gold that I’m going to list for sale this week! That one was a lot easier to make since I know how to sew it up! 🙂

  3. Stephanie says:

    Wow, you make such beautiful things!! Do you make your own patterns?

    • sueviola says:

      Thank you! Sometimes I come up with my own patterns for blankets and earrings but mostly I get patterns from crochet magazines and books.

Leave a Reply

