What Mom Got For Her Birthday (Granny Squares Were Not Involved)


Remember the blog post where I mentioned that I was going to be making something for my mom’s birthday with those granny squares that I even posted a nice photo of? Well… considering the time factor and the pressure of creating something relatively decent and presentable within 24 hours (crazy), I remembered that I had made a blanket that I was going to sell in my Zibbet shop (see photo below), but decided it would be a wonderful gift for her for two reasons: a) I crocheted it using a baby-weight yarn so it is light and perfect for summer, and b) Lilac is her favorite color (and flower)! Score!! 😀

Needless to say, she was extremely happy when she opened her present and I hope she gets a lot of use out of it!

The pattern I used to make the blanket is featured in the Nov/Dec 2008 issue of Crochet Today! magazine and it is called the Soft & Comfy Throw by Candi Jensen. It is an extremely easy and fun pattern to stitch! I’d love to make another one in turquoise and in yellow!

Mom's Birthday Gift

But there’s still the issue with those granny squares…are you thinking what I’m thinking?? AFGHAN!!

This entry was posted in Blanket, Crochet, Gift, Handmade, Mom's Birthday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Mom Got For Her Birthday (Granny Squares Were Not Involved)

  1. Linda says:

    This is a beautiful, beautiful design. I surely hope I can find the pattern because I would like to make one.

    • suestitches says:

      Thanks so much Linda! The pattern is in the Nov,/Dec. 2008 issue of Crochet Today! Magazine. It is called Soft & Comfy Throw designed by Candi Jensen. You may be able to get a back copy through their subscription department.

Leave a Reply

