I Know It’s Here Somewhere!


“A place for everything, everything in its place.” Benjamin Franklin

With summer coming to an end and the holiday season only a few months away, I really need to seriously start sorting though all my craft supplies before adding anything to the pile!

I am in dire need of an organization system for not only my yarn, but for other supplies as well (crochet thread, sewing thread, sewing needles, ribbon, fabric, buttons, beads, and jewelry findings). My crochet hooks are kept neatly stored in their case, but my other supplies need their own homes as well. I dream of the day when I can just look up on that wall and actually SEE what I have so when a particular pattern catches my eye, I’ll know what supplies I have on hand! I will be doing the happy dance then! 🙂

I also need to organize my crochet magazines, leaflets, and craft books as well. I have a few magazine holders but the pile has grown a bit since then! I tend not to purchase as many magazines anymore, as I have found free patterns online. I print and store them in clear plastic inserts in a 3-ring binder. Now that my friends, saves a lot of room!

My Dilemma:
Lack of space and a limited budget. I have one wall with room for shelves so that may just be the answer. After doing some research on the internet, I came across some photos that are a definite inspiration to the task at hand (see below). I did get a little carried away with the last photo, but a girl can dream! Click on each photo to go to their respective websites for more organization tips!

I love these baskets and these would be good to hold smaller balls of yarn!

Placing jars underneath the shelves is not only a great way to store buttons and beads but they look pretty too!

An under-the-bed see-through organizer is a great way to store other supplies such as fabric and ribbons!

THIS is my dream craft space wall! Everything in one place!

I think I have a lot of work to do this weekend!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

How do you organize your craft supplies? I’d love to hear your tips and tricks!

3 thoughts on “I Know It’s Here Somewhere!

  1. Daisy Craft supplies are well organised on shelves and boxes so we can restock fairly quickly.

    My personal craft supplies (which out number the business by 3:1) are stored in an old wardrobe and airing cupboard, and bags on top and boxes on the floor, i can go on. Just like you i could be more organised but over the years i have developed a secret passion for discovery and adventure.This is because when i look in these places ‘ cause i know it’s here somewhere’ i always get a surprise, i had forgotten i had that moment, which then creates more bags and boxes on the floor of work in progress.
    I will probably never change and my husband will be forever patient.

Leave a Reply

