What a Blanket Taught Me..


It was about two years ago when I decided to make this blanket. I had only been crocheting for about a year, and decided to not only join the squares (which I had never done before), but also make this my own pattern. A big undertaking for a novice, but I was up to the challenge…or so I thought.

For one thing, I didn’t know at the time that the squares can be joined into individual strips and then sewn together. I painstakeningly attached EVERY square one at a time and finally when I was just about at the end of the last few rows (figures right?), I realized there HAD to be a better way to sew on the squares than how I’d be doing it. That’s when the lightbulb when on over my head and I thought of making the strips and then attaching those. Okay, so It took me a while to figure it out, but I love how it came out and it sold in my Etsy shop that I had at the time to a woman in Korea!

What that blanket taught me: never give up, if there’s a better way to do something then do it, and that people will notice my hard work and appreciate it just as much as I do.

Life IS like a blanket then!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

