Beautiful Knit Cables


I’m a knitter now!!!  I have mastered the double cast on, knit stitch, and purl stitch.. just the basic stuff.  I’m becoming obsessed already, I’ve knitted until the wee hours of the morning, at work, and on the bus.  I never did that with crochet, not that I don’t love that too, but there’s something about knitting that just has me drawn in.  Maybe the repetition?  Possibly, but I also think it’s much more relaxing for some reason.  I’m not sure what it is, but all I know is that I love it and hope to move on to circular knitting and cables.  I’m in absolute awe over how all you knitters make such beautiful things, and I can’t wait to get to that point!  Here are some cable patterns that I have fallen in love with:

I’ve started making a scarf for my daughter using the stockinette stitch with Red Heart’s Boutique yarn seen above and size 10 needles, and it’s coming out really pretty. I’ve noticed a few holes in my work, but it’s not so noticeable that I would want to rip it all out. I’ll post a photo of my work in progress this week!

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautiful Knit Cables

  1. Simply Knots says:

    I’m new to knitting as well and cables like the ones you posted always make me drool. I can make a basic cable, but I haven’t ventured any farther than that.

  2. SueStitches says:

    Every time I look at this post I drool, I wish I knew how to make even a basic cable, but I’m not at that point yet, I’ve only been knitting for two weeks.

Leave a Reply

