a Doily Redux


One of the reasons I took up crochet is because I love doilies. Not only do I love the intricate look of them, but also their romantic and vintage feel. They truly are a work of art in my eyes. This past Saturday I had an urge to make one, and as I was skimming through my magazines and books, I came across this one from a booklet called Thread For the Home by Leisure Arts.  It’s available through Amazon and the link has been added to the photo below.

I love the “spiderweb” look of  this doily.  It took me all day and into the wee hours of the morning to get it done, and I’m proud with how it came out.  It’s in the blocking stage right now, and I can’t wait to get home from work to see if it’s dry and how the finished result looks.

Last night I had another urge to recreate something new with this pattern. I decided to use Patons Grace fine yarn in a pretty purplish color and a D hook to see what I could come up with. I worked the first seven rounds of the original pattern, and then wanted to create my own edging to complete it. I worked picot stitches and a fan design at first,  but didn’t care for how those looked.  Then I remembered a doily pattern that creates almost a castle turret look and decided to go with that idea.  I love castles, so it combines two loves into one.  The result was just what I was looking for!  If you notice, there’s  a slight ruffle to it, which created almost a “puff stitch” between the “turrets”.  I Love that!!

I’m thinking about creating a pattern for a shawl or blanket with this design motif.  Which do you think would look better?  if you have any other ideas I would love to hear them!

5 thoughts on “a Doily Redux

Leave a Reply

